I call architecture frozen music.
--- Goethe

 

S.F. FROZEN FILM FESTIVAL ADVICE

SOME PR POSSIBILITIES
To best publicize your film, write a one page press release about it and send it to local media, nonprofits, and related groups. Writing about why S.F. Bay Area peeps would be extremely interested in the film helps your chances in having it featured. Look up press releases on the internet if you do not have one yet. They are simple to write and very affective. Then email the release in the body of an email to the following possible areas. Below are a few contacts in the SF Bay Area to get you started. We advise sending as many as possible to as many different groups and publication that you can for best results.

Bay Area Reporter
Editor:news@ebar.com

MovieMaker Magazine
Jennifer M. Wood
Editor
121 Fulton Street, Fifth Floor
New York, NY 10038
212/766-4100
jwood@moviemaker.com

SF Chronicle
Editor 
Biggar, Alison
abiggar@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Gabriana Marks
gmarks@sfchronicle.com
gabrianam@gmail.com
415-646-6244

SF Chronicle
Features Copy Editor
Andrea Abney
aabney@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
96 Hours General Contact Address
96hours@sfchronicle.com
415-777-7052

SF Chronicle
96 Hours
Simar Khanna
Features Editor - 96 Hours
skhanna@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Datebook
Features Pop Music Critic
Neva Chonin
nchonin@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
SFIS, Style Editor
Anastasia Hendrix
ahendrix@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Theater Critic
Rob Hurwitt
rhurwitt@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Movie Critic Datebook
Mick LaSalle
mlasalle@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Metro Columnist
Ross, Andrew
aross@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Reporter
Tanya Schevitz
tschevitz@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
News and Culture Trends Editor
Tamara Straus
tstraus@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Datebook/Features Staff Writer
Aidin Vaziri
avaziri@sfchronicle.com

SF Chronicle
Features Trends Reporter
Justin Berton
JBerton@sfchronicle.com

SF Weekly
Editor
Tom Walsh
Tom.Walsh@sfweekly.com

SF Weekly
Managing Editor
Will Harper
Will.Harper@sfweekly.com

SF Weekly
Jennifer Maerz
Music Editor
Jennifer.Maerz@sfweekly.com

SF Weekly
Michael Leaverton
Calendar Editor
Michael.Leaverton@sfweekly.com

SF Weekly
Hiya Swanhuyser
Assistant Calendar Editor
Hiya.Swanhuyser@sfweekly.com

The San Francisco Bay Guardian
Send information to Listings, the Guardian Building, 135 Mississippi St., SF, CA 94107; fax to (415) 487-2506; or e-mail (paste press release into e-mail body - no text attachments, please) to listings@sfbg.com. Must be sent at least two weeks prior.

San Francisco Bay Guardian
Cheryl Eddy
Cheryl@sfbg.com
Associate Editor, Arts and Entertainment
135 Mississippi Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
Fax: (415) 487-2506

SF Examiner
sfeditor@examiner.com
450 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Attn: Entertainment Editor

San Francisco Examiner
Feature Reporter
christina_troup@yahoo.com
(415) 794-6268

AWARE Magazine (SF Nonprofit Mag.)
Tara O'Leary
Media Relations Specialist
tarapr@mac.com
260 Bay Street #317
San Francisco, CA 94133
o. 415.837.1188
c. 415.823.2634

KPFA Community Calendar (94.1)
1929 Martin Luther King, Jr. Way
Berkeley, CA 94704.
communitycalendar@kpfa.org

KUSF Entertainment Calendar
2130 Fulton St.
San Francisco, CA 94117
kusf@juno.com

The (SF) Onion
Marc Hawthorne, City Editor
The Onion
604 Mission St., 3rd Fl.
San Francisco, CA 94105
sanfran@theonion.com (Send Attn: Marc Hawthorne)

East Bay Express
David Downs
1335 Stanford Ave.
Emeryville, CA 94608

East Bay Express
Stephen Buel
Editor
Editor@eastbayexpress.com

KFJC-FM 89.7
Eric Johnson
General Manager
12345 El Monte Road
Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
650 949 7348
gm@kfjc.org

SF Burning
Keith martin
webmaster / photography / music editor
keith@sfburning.com

SF Burning
Matthew Lindsay
music editor
matt@sfburning.com

SF Burning
Tuula Ala
music editor
tuula@sfburning.com

SF Burning
Marion Dunham
music editor
marion@sfburning.com

SF Burning
Jesús Don Diablo
music editor
jesúsdondiablo@sfburning.com

KZSU News
540 Memorial Way
Stanford, CA 94305-5010
news@kzsu.stanford.edu

KZSU Station
Michael Howes
Music Director
music@kzsu.stanford.edu

SF Station
Anhoni Patel
Managing Editor
anhoni@sfstation.com
1475 Folsom St., Ste. 200
San Francisco, CA 94103

Yelp (SF)
Bob Goodson
bob@yelp.com

Yelp (SF)
SF Community Lead
Nish Nadaraja
nish@yelp.com

MAXIMUM ROCK’N’ROLL
PO Box 460760
San Francisco, CA 94146-0760
mrr@maximumrocknroll.com

Section M Magazine
P.O.box 5348
Santa Rosa, ca
95402-5348
michael@sectionm.com

KQED, Inc.
2601 Mariposa Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
pressroom@kqed.org

Silicon Valley Daily
Editor:
Joseph Shieh
svdaily@hotmail.com

North Gate News Online
UC Berkeley
Online Submission Form for PR Releases
Attn: Neil Henry

SF Herald
editor@sfherald.com

The Oakland Tribune
Pete Wevurski – Editor
(510) 208-6432
pwevurski@angnewspapers.com

Marin Independent Journal
Press releases: Fax to editorial department: 415-883-5458

Tri-Valley Herald
Bob Goll - Editor
(925) 416-4822
bgoll@angnewspapers.com

Tri-Valley Herald/ The San Mateo County Times/ The Oakland Tribune
Preview's Weekly Entertainment Guide
Items should be submitted at least three
weeks before the event takes place.
preview@angnewspapers.com

Tri-Valley Herald
Kari Hulac - Features Editor
(925) 416-4856
khulac@angnewspapers.com

The San Mateo County Times
Mike Oliver - Regional Editor
(510) 208-6467
moliver@angnewspapers.com

The San Mateo County Times
Lucinda Ryan - Assistant Features Editor
(925)416-4757
cschutz@angnewspapers.com

The San Mateo County Times
Jim Harrington - Music Editor
(925) 416-4857
jharrington@angnewspapers.com

The San Mateo County Times and Others
Film publicity
Barry Caine
bcaine@angnewspapers.com

City Search
Marketing Manager
Brandi Willard
Brandi_Willard@citysearch.com

Variety
General PR Email:
news@variety.com

Variety
Event Listing Coordinator
Carol Swanson
carol.swanson@variety.com

KRON 4
4listens@kron4.com

SF360.org
Susan Gerhard
susanger@gmail.com
Editor

SOMA Magazine
Ali Ghanbarian
Publisher and Editor-in-Chief
argt@somamagazine.com
415.777.3663

Castro Courier
Andy Sywak
Publisher
P.O. Box 14430
San Francisco, CA 94114
p: 415-682-4258
castrocourier@gmail.com

TBMR.CO.UK
Matthew Morris
Editor
matt@tbmr.co.uk
48 Tewkesbury Street
Leicester
Leicestershire, LE35HP
England
Tel: (+44)01162532729

San Francisco Business Times
275 Battery St.
Suite 940
San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone: 415-989-2522
Fax: 415-398-2494
sanfrancisco@bizjournals.com

7x7
Letters to the Editor: letters@7x7sf.com
Owner | President | Publisher, Tom Hartle:tom@7x7sf.com
Owner | Editorial + Creative Director, Heather Luplow Hartle:heather@7x7sf.com
Executive Editor Christine Ryan, 7x7 magazine: HYPERLINK "mailto:chris@7x7sf.com" chris@7x7sf.com

San Francisco Mag.
FOR MORE INFORMATION OR
TO SCHEDULE INTERVIEWS
Contact Marketing Director
Bridget Cunningham by phone at
415.398. 3595, ext. 227, or by email
bcunningham@sanfranmag.com.

San Francisco Mag.
BRUCE KELLEY, EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
bkelly@sanfranmag.com

SF Commissioners:
arthurread@att.net; c_olague@yahoo.com; wordweaver21@aol.com; suelee@chsa.org; bill.lee@flysfo.com; mooreurban@speakeasy.net; hs.commish@yahoo.com;

SF Board of Supervisors:
aaron.peskin@sfgov.org, jake.mcgoldrick@sfgov.org,
michela.alioto-pier@sfgov.org, carmen.chu@sfgov.org, ross.mirkarimi@sfgov.org, chris.daly@sfgov.org, sean.elsbernd@sfgov.org, sean.elsbernd@sfgov.org, sophie.maxwell@sfgov.org, gerardo.sandoval@sfgov.org

Mayor Newsom:
gavin.newsom@sfgov.org

back to top